Parenting Class Frequently Asked Questions
Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course
Parenting class frequently asked Questions related to the 4 hour online Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization course for divorcing parents with minor children. If you don't find the answer to your question below, please use the Contact Us page and I will be glad to answer any questions you may have.
Is this an official parenting course approved by the Department of Children and Families?
Yes. This parenting course has been approved by The Department of Children and Family Services according to the Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course requirements.
Is a parenting class required for divorce in Florida?
Yes, a parenting class is required per Florida Statutes for divorcing parents with minor children. Parental conflict related to divorce is a societal concern because children suffer potential short-term and long-term detrimental economic, emotional, and educational effects during this difficult period of family transition. Parents are more likely to consider the best interests of their children when determining parental arrangements if courts provide families with information regarding the process by which courts make decisions on issues affecting their children and suggestions as to how parents may ease the coming adjustments in family structure for their children.
How long is the Florida parenting class?
The Florida parenting class is a minimum of 4 hours long. The State of Florida requires that divorcing parents with minor children complete a Department of Children and Families (DCF) approved Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course which must be a minimum of 4 hours.
Do I have to complete the parenting course in one sitting?
No, you can complete the parenting course at your own pace. You will save your progress at the end of each chapter. Keep in mind, in the State of Florida, the petitioner has just 45 days from the date of filing to complete the Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course. The Respondent must complete the course within 45 days from the date they are served.
Can you fail the Florida parenting class?
No, you cannot fail the Florida parenting class. The Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course is a no-fail course. At the end of each chapter is a 10 question review and then a final exam after all chapters have been completed. You are able to re-take the test as many times as necessary with No Penalty until you pass with a score of 70% or higher. Our goal is to educate you, not penalize you.
How will I receive my certificate of completion?
Upon completion, our system will Immediately generate a PDF document of your certificate for downloading or printing. Furthermore, in the event that you misplace your certificate, you may return to the website and download additional copies at no extra charge. Your certificate is encoded with a QR code unique to your certificate which provides Instant Validation of your Certificate of Completion via any smart phone, should the courts deem it necessary.
What is divorce parenting class?
Divorce parenting class is a name often associated with the Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course. The purpose of the course is to educate parents concerning changes that may occur in the family, particularly for children. The course will provide suggestions for coping with these changes and give you tips on how to coparent effectively for the well being of all children involved in a divorce.
How long do I have to submit my certificate of completion to the court?
For dissolution of marriage actions:
- The petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after the filing of the petition.
- All other parties must complete the course within 45 days after service of the petition.
What could happen if one parent doesn't take the parenting class?
The court may hold any parent who fails to attend a required parenting course in contempt, or that parent may be denied shared parental responsibility or time-sharing or otherwise sanctioned as the court deems appropriate.
Do you have additional questions or concerns?
If you still have questions about the Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course, we are here to help you. Please click here to contact us and submit any questions or concerns you may have.
- Start now and have your certificate in just 4 hours
- 24 / 7 Access
- Fully Automated - Never wait for your Certificate.
- Reprint copies of your Certificate of Completion at will - FREE
- Easy to follow and informative online course
- The only course providing Instant QR Code Certificate Validation for the courts
In the State of Florida, the petitioner has just 45 days from the date of filing to complete the Florida Parent Education and Family Stabilization Course.
The Respondent must complete the class within 45 days from the date they are served.